Paleo-ish Chicken Pot Pie (with vegan option) 

Submitted by Haddi

Oh my gosh, I made this recipe for my family the other night and it was hands-down the best chicken pot pie I’ve ever had. It was amazing!

This recipe was explained very clearly, but I’ll include the few tweaks I did and will do next time below.

http://www.lifemadefull.com/recipe/paleo-chicken-pot-pie/

First of all, for the crust, I used butter instead of palm shortening. Then, definitely follow all of her refrigeration steps. I think next time I might try wax paper instead of parchment, and I will try rolling out the top crust between two sheets then throw the flattened disc into the fridge for awhile again before trying to work with it. The crust is very frustrating to work with as it’s sticky and doesn’t peel away like normal crust… But it’s SO worth it.

Then for the vegetables. She calls for broccoli and carrots, but I was going for more of that traditional pot pie flavor, so I strayed from paleo and used 3 chopped carrots, 2 stalks chopped celery, and about a 1/2 cup frozen peas. I boiled them together for about 10 minutes.

I discovered a new way that I love preparing chicken these days – my mini crockpot. I threw two breasts in there, sprinkled with salt and pepper on both sides, and cooked for a couple hours with a little bit of chicken broth or water. This step obviously needs to be done well before dinner, but I like not having to “babysit” my cooking chicken, and it comes out so juicy and tender. Boiling just doesn’t satisfy anymore!

So there you have it! Perhaps I’ll rewrite the whole thing at some point, but for me it was easy to just mentally make the changes in her recipe without needing it written down. Enjoy!
For a vegan option: use palm shortening for crust as originally called for, coconut oil and vegetable broth for the sauce/gravy, and obviously don’t use the chicken – add in whatever veggies you want. If you used my veggies (peas, carrots, and celery), adding broccoli into the mix would still taste great! Cauliflower would be a good option too. You’d definitely want some “chunky” veggies to satisfy the pot pie-ness of this dish. With the rich crust and gravy, this would be a very satisfying vegan meal.  

Leave a comment